Two initiatives which use collaboration to build communities

Two new, or newish, initatives for community building between bloggers have emerged. Both, in that great supportive spirit of the blogosphere, strives to do its best for those whose blogs might be overlooked and undervalued. But the approach to links is so different between the two, it begs the question: will Google’s seach and Technorati’sauthority give different values for the nature of those links? To put it another way, do more interactive, content-driven links carry more weight than a simple list of links?  

  1. In a posting headed How to Get Our Huge Group to Visit Your Blog, blogger Chuck Westbrook has asked bloggers to spend two weeks visiting a little-visited blogger. The point would be to raise the profile of some too-neglected bloggers and encourage them with (hopefully friendly) analysis. Over three hundred bloggers signed up (including me) to his email or RSS subscription, added his blog to our blogroll, tendered our own blog for consideration and then awaited directions. First up is Zoe Westhof’s blog Essential Prose – we have already read two of her postings, comments now number over 70 to the first and Chuck has even set up a forum in which we can discuss improvements to the process or the postings themselves.
  2. Chris Brogan, a respected social media marketer, has launched Wear Your Rockstar Status with Pride. All participants are encouraged to post one of three logos on their own blog (see mine, on the right, below the “Most Read Posts”), carrying both the slogan and a direct link back to Chris’ site. You yourself are expected to submit the details of your own blog that Chris will then input into his site on the Rockstars page. I think I have got that right.

I really like Chuck Westbrook’s idea. Although he himself is set to raise his profile (from around 250,000, according to Technorati), extend his email/RSS subscriptions AND raise his authority through his links (which at presents numbers in the mid-20s, again according to Technorati), there is a real sense of doing good through his activities.  I am sure it will be the making of some bloggers.

I am not so sure I fully understand Chris Brogan’s idea – I am probably missing something. He already has a really high profile (a Top 100 blog, according to Technorati), almost 12,000 subscribers (according to Feedburner) and already enjoys enough links to boast an authority of almost 3,000 (again, according to Technorati). Those who submit their blogs and upload his icon are benefiting from his very high authority to boost their own but are placed in a very long list.

An example of a more interactive community by a social marketer was created by Peter Kim with his recent list of US companies using social media to market themselves. I’ve already argued in an earlier posting that this was, and remains, a great example of blogging as collaborative, linked in and open.

So Chuck Westbrook’s initiative, like Peter Kim’s, appear to be both linked in AND content-driven, rather than the more self-conscious links of Chris Brogan. Does Google and Technorati differentiate between the two types?

About John Welsh

John Welsh has spent his entire working life in business-to-business media, first traditional publishing, having edited three magazines over 14 years, and, second, exhibitions since 2007. He started this blog on 22 June 2008 and ended it on 18 May 2010.
This entry was posted in Blogs, Links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two initiatives which use collaboration to build communities

  1. Chuck says:

    Hi John,

    First off, you share a name with a physics teach I once had who wore his silver hair in a long, pony-tailed mullet.

    Also, I’m following you on Twitter now, and I’d love to chat with you. I think your analysis of my idea is interesting. Believe it or not I hadn’t thought too much on my rankings or authority and such, but I’d love to get deeper into your thoughts.

    I did notice that Google dropped my site from 1st for my name to about 15th for my name shortly after I started the project. I think it might be back up top now, but I”m not sure.

Leave a Reply

