Live blogging from the Future of Social Media Conference: five things that went well

Let’s be honest – if you run a conference on social media, you should jolly well make sure it practices what it preaches. Well, we achieved a nice, big social media bubble around the Future of Social Media Conference. What went well? What went less well?

  1. My colleague Rob Enslin encouraged all those people attending to use the #fosm or tag futureofsocialmedia to ensure that all our efforts on Twitter, FriendFeed, Flickr and blogs were aligned. It worked really well.
  2. My attempt at live blogging was extraordinarily exhausting but I managed to get out postings for every speaker within five minutes of them starting their presentation, even just with their name, link to their blog and photo. I then repeatedly pressed “save” on my WordPress cms to update the posting as I wrote. I would also push out a Twitter with a tinyurl link to the posting five or 10 minutes after the speaker had started (sorry to some of my followers on that day!). Sometimes I was working on three different postings at once, setting up one for the next speaker, covering what was said by the present speaker and tidying up what I had written for the previous speaker. In all I did around 14 postings in one day, just under a tenth of all postings I had ever doone on this blog! 
    Me live blogging!

    Me live blogging!

     

  3. The social media bubble was so active that people were commenting on my blog while I was writing it. Indeed one speaker came off stage, was alerted by my link to his blog that I had just live blogged his presentation, and then commented back on my blog, arranging to meet for a drink later. Although the live blogging prevented me from face-to-face networking, it put me firmly into the midst of all those people in the room who were up to speed with social media. Indeed several now follow me on Twitter following the event. So Twitter-to-Twitter networking!
  4. After the event, Internet World event director James Drake-Brockman thanked speakers by commenting on their blogs with a link back to a posting on the Internet World blog.
  5. We should have made more of the social media bubble on the day. All those delegates who were up to speed with social media were aware of what was going on and participated. All those who were not were not aware and had no way of knowing about the social media bubble. We should have had the FriendFeed or Twitter projected on a screen, mounting up during the day – see my earlier posting.

About John Welsh

John Welsh has spent his entire working life in business-to-business media, first traditional publishing, having edited three magazines over 14 years, and, second, exhibitions since 2007. He started this blog on 22 June 2008 and ended it on 18 May 2010.
This entry was posted in Social media, UBM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

