3G iPhone – two users one week on

Two of my colleagues have been using the 3G iPhone for around a week now. What do they think?

 First, Robin Enslin who I posted about last week

How long have you had your phone now? Since the 11th July – 6 days.

Was it difficult to buy? No – called Carphone Warehouse (CPW) placed my order and had a next-day delivery in store.

Was it difficult to get connected? If you mean activation then no…not really. I was successful after second attempt from home and of course using iTunes.

Was it difficult to understand how to use it? No. Although I had to think a bit when connecting the ear phone jack – it was a bit tight and was concerned I might cause damage. A lot of that was ‘new purchase frenzied impatience’.

How many applications have you downloaded already? I have 5 – all very useful and in daily use.

How are you finding out what downloads are out there? I use the ‘App Store’ icon on the phone. I also read reviews on the web and tweets for comments.

Has it changed you relationship to

phone calls, No – normal mobile phone operations continue.

texting, A little – you get to see all the associated text messages in sequence. I’m not sure how useful that is just yet.

emails, Yes. I have fully featured mobile email with multi-account access. I’m still trying to get my office email activated / approved though.

Twitter, Yes. Love this on my phone. I did have an issue (http://www.flickr.com/photos/doos/2661181436/) after my first download, but that’s been resolved now.

photos Yes. Quality-wise it lacks, but for quick reference shots and being able to get them loaded on the web it’s awesome.

Have you begun to imagine how we might implement its functions within our business?

Yes. Uploading news content, twitter content and pics, email access, bespoke iPhone app for expo attendees, Mobile webinar streams (directly or through apps) and many more. Note: We need to understand our customers and/or audience first before we embark on business integration.

And now my colleague Stuart Ellis

How long have you had your phone now? 6 Days 

Was it difficult to buy? The local phone stores had run out on Friday but tried my local Apple store on the Saturday and they had them. No real queue either. 

Was it difficult to get connected? No, they set it up for me in the shop and it was working by the time I left. They even created my online O2 account. As I had to wait for my PAC code from Orange I only requested my number change yesterday over the phone which is due to happen tomorrow so was pleased with the ease of transfer.

Was it difficult to understand how to use it? Not difficult at all. I haven’t read any instructions but managed to pick it up by just playing. I was surprised how easy it was to connect to my emails too, easier than my home PC. 

How many applications have you downloaded already? 1 Useful and 2 gimmicks. The 1 useful app lets me control the iTunes on my PC remotely, so if I use the PC as a stereo I don’t even have to be in the same room to change the music. 

How are you finding out what downloads are out there? Just using the ‘App Store’ icon that was on the iPhone. Haven’t tried the websites yet.

Has it changed you relationship to

*phone calls, No, just use it like a normal phone 

*texting, A little. You can view a string of texts as a conversation which is very clear. Also I find I’m slightly quicker. My texts are tending to be longer.

* emails, Yes. I can pick them up anywhere now at no cost and I have used emails to other iPhone users instead of txt especially if I want to attach a link. It was really useful to send a Multimap map and directions.

*Twitter, Yes as I can update the site from anywhere so on there more often 

*photos The camera is very average so not really bothered with it and I haven’t put any photos on it yet. It is good however for viewing picture off the web/email

Have you begun to imagine how we might implement its functions within our business?

Given it a little thought but not come up with anything good yet. My thoughts at the moment are along the lines of registration for exhibitions, events or conferences. Or if our products can produce useful linked apps. 

About John Welsh

John Welsh has spent his entire working life in business-to-business media, first traditional publishing, having edited three magazines over 14 years, and, second, exhibitions since 2007. He started this blog on 22 June 2008 and ended it on 18 May 2010.
This entry was posted in Mobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

